Professor Melvin Lobo

Professor Melvin Lobo

MBChB, PhD, FRCP, FBHS, FESC, FACC

Recommended by  
14 specialists

30 years of experience
16 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.96
Bedside Manner
4.98
Explanation
4.98

Top feedback

“It is such a relief that my condition is being taken seriously by the doctors that I've seen at Bart's. This condition has really been affecting my life and to now be getting treatment for it is something that I really appreciate. Both of the doctors that I've seen - Dr Rull and Professor Lobo - have taken so much care to listen to me and then give me detailed explanations of what treatment they are giving and why and what I can do to manage my condition and I really value that approach. I have been really impressed with the treatment that I've received at Bart's and am grateful to all of the staff involved.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It is such a relief that my condition is being taken seriously by the doctors that I've seen at Bart's. This condition has really been affecting my life and to now be getting treatment for it is something that I really appreciate. Both of the doctors that I've seen - Dr Rull and Professor Lobo - have taken so much care to listen to me and then give me detailed explanations of what treatment they are giving and why and what I can do to manage my condition and I really value that approach. I have been really impressed with the treatment that I've received at Bart's and am grateful to all of the staff involved.

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
Low blood pressure
Loss of consciousness (Syncope)
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent in every way

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
19-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very down to earth man who listens to your problems and concerns and reassures you that we will get to the bottom of the issue. I would recommend Professor Lobo to anyone with a Hypertension issue.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
16-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent consultation. Manner very welcoming, open and friendly. Sometimes it can be difficult having a consultation with someone over the phone with whom you have never met. I certainly did not find this. He was very thorough and I had confidence in his expert knowledge which is important when you need advice to solve a difficult problem. I would definitely recommend Professor Lobo to anyone who has a difficult problem that requires solving.

Patient seen for:
uncontrolled Hypertension
11-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I did not feel rushed in the consultation and was offered good explanation. Future plan was discussed thoroughly which was very helpful. Very reassuring manner and efficient. Many thanks

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
09-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have found Professor Lobo to be an extremely caring and outstanding doctor. He listens to what you are going through, he does thorough testing and likes to connect the dots. Professor Lobo asks if other doctors are involved for other health conditions you are dealing with and if not, he likes to get the ball rolling for those too. For someone like me who has lots of very challenging health issues, it is wonderful to have someone who actually listens and discusses a plan, a way forward. Excellent service all round.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
High Blood Pressure
Dysautonomia
Video Consultation
09-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

If you have hypertension problems Professor Lobo is the man to see. I have found him to be excellent in quickly resolving my high bp problems made more difficult by intolerances to various medications. He is very approachable, knowledgeable and clearly has considerable experience in this field.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
03-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo really does go above and beyond, his extensive efforts via thorough testing, referrals to expert colleagues and invaluable support have been vital to the successful management of my ill health.

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
01-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is an excellent professional consultant. He is honest, caring, committed to assisting in your medical management and is always there when you need his urgent help and support. If it wasn’t for Professor Lobo doing extensive tests to find out what was wrong with me, I don’t think I could have managed my condition. Now I am able to cope with Professor Lobo's kindness and support. Thank you for caring.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
Variable blood pressure
General Medicine
Low blood pressure
Echocardiogram
01-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very straight forward, provides enough detail and explains decision. I have recommended him to lots of people.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
Loss of consciousness (Syncope)
Video Consultation
01-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Lobo and his team have been very supportive with my condition (hypotension and POTS) in the last few months, which has been such an incredible relief after many years of misdiagnosis with anxiety disorders. Besides treatment support (both pharmacological and non-pharmacological), I have felt validated and truly listened to by the team. It has made me able to continue more confidently on my path, in the knowledge that if or when my health deteriorates, that they will be there to support me how they can.

Patient seen for:
Low blood pressure
Dysautonomia
30-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Lobo treatment of my blood pressure suits me perfectly indeed I believe it is thanks to his approach I am alive today, no one else who has treated me has his magic touch

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
28-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Professor Lobo to be extremely knowledgable, to ask very relevant questions and to have an enthalpy with me, his patient.

Patient seen for:
Low blood pressure
28-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I feel so privileged to be under Prof Lobo care. He makes every appointment enjoyable and it is clearly evident that he cares about his patients.

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
28-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I fully recommend Professor Lobo - he is an expert, kind, approachable and interested physician. He diagnosed that I had a rare condition within 10 minutes, after several years of fruitless investigations. I can’t thank him enough!

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
Variable blood pressure
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
High Blood Pressure
Low blood pressure
Loss of consciousness (Syncope)
General Medicine
28-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very understanding, helpful and explains everything in detail. Great doctor to have looking after you.

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
Low blood pressure
27-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Every thing was explained very clear, Prof Lobo was very responsive and, so far, the treatment he prescribed is working

15-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Superb dr

12-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Superb dr

12-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo always gives friendly and highly professional consultations, explaining complex matters in simple and commonsense ways. He always made me feel confident in his assessments and judgement. Today's consultation was by telephone but was to the same high standards in every regard as previously.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension issues
12-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very good appointment, Prof Lobo has a great manner and made me feel at ease. He explained everything in detail, nothing felt rushed as can often happen with telephone consults and I feel that my experiences and symptoms were validated.

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
BP fluctuations
12-08-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Felt very comfortable with professor Lobo. Pleasant to talk to.Explained everything in detail. Very professional manner.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
12-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

For so long I have felt invalidated, and that my symptoms were almost psychological. Dr Lobo listened to everything I said and conducted a series of testing, here we found answers to all of the symptoms I’ve been experiencing and he said everything makes sense. He was so good in explaining everything and has the patients best interest at heart and really considers quality of life. He is my favourite doctor for sure.

10-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and patient centric.

10-08-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Very efficient in getting to the route of the problem and ensuring details test are done to rule out all possible causes.

10-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is an excellent listener and communicator . His timekeeping for appointments is also very good. I much appreciate his style of providing well explained advice, a treatment plan and backup. He trusts me to monitor my condition and provides parameters for action on a delegated basis. Provision for contact between formal appointments is made but on infrequent occasions I had to use it, improvement would be helpful

Patient seen for:
difficult to treat hyper tension
10-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo listened attentively. He was not judgmental, and he seemed to know the angst I was going through with the previous treatment I had received and offered an alternative approach to which I welcomed. He was knowledgeable in his approach to reach a solution and was fully aware that my concern came first! The experience has left me believing that there are some genuinely committed and sincere doctors out there. I highly recommend Professor Lobo.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
30-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof. Lobo listened well, had lots of information, and seemed very familiar with my experience of drug side effects, and how to find a solution. He gave me considerable confidence he will find a solution for something which has been an ongoing problem for me for years.

Patient seen for:
High Blood Pressure
27-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo combines medical excellence in his field with an understanding of the practicalities and pressures of life his patients have to provide first class, realistic advice and care. Thank you

25-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is a great practitioner, who combines outstanding medical knowledge with an appreciation of the real life practicalities and pressures to provide sensible, imaginative care. Thank you

25-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A Doctor and a gentleman, always answers my questions that I ask in a way I understand.

Patient seen for:
Clinical Pharmacology
23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thorough, professional, listens, committed to providing exceptional care. Would highly recommend.

22-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It is extremely rare in the medical profession to come across a highly accomplished Professor who is able and willing to listen to their patients and carefully observe what they have to report about their ailments instead of preaching from high and above what the strong ego of a professional must say and tell the patient what is best for them. After all, they are the professional and of course they must know best! What is profoundly lacking with many medics, Professor Lobo has these qualities in abundance, this needs to be celebrated.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
16-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional

Patient seen for:
General medicine
13-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Melvin Lobo is not only an excellent Hypertension consultant but has a very broad understanding of medicine with over 30years experience. I found him excellent in solving my medical condition and he was always amenable to explain, talk and advise. He has a very caring manner to his approach and I felt completely in the right safe hands. He now looks after my whole family given my good experience with him. Totally recommend him.

Patient seen for:
Pain in chest
12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent physician, very knowlegeable, polite. Takes an interest and very patient when answering questions

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Explained some potentially complex health issues in laymans terms with humility and confidence

12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Lobo, is that rare practitioner who has a deep passion for his profession and the patient. His deep clinical experience and research at the forefront Vascular medicine gave me immense comfort as a patient. His erudition in matters other than medicine, especially fine wine and art, put me further at ease. Following from his excellent diagnosis and recommendations, which one should follow strictly, I have have been able to continue with very stressful travel for work and re-engage with my favourite sports. I would like to acknowledge this Doctor and also say a huge Thank You !

Patient seen for:
High and irregular BP.
12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is a world class hypertension specialist with excellence in diagnosing and treating blood pressure issues and disorders.  How do I know this? Please read on! My Mother’s blood pressure was poorly controlled via the General Practioners for an extended period of time which placed her at risk for various future heart problems and other potentially serious health conditions. We researched the outstanding work that Professor Lobo provides for his patients, (which extends to the knowledge and training of future generations of cardiovascular doctors and hypertension specialists). We Instantly knew we had to visit him for his expertise and guidance. We initially booked and visited Professor Lobo at his private clinic at the renowned London Bridge Hospital where he treated my Mother’s concerning health issues with the utmost care, courteousness and understanding.  Not only did he restore my Mother’s health by giving her the correct diagnosis and medications (which incidentally have continued to this day through our G.P. as a direct result of his intervention and follow-ups with our doctor and at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital) he went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure her full recovery. Professor Lobo even arranged a series of thorough investigative checks for other conditions and concerns that we discussed.  IMHO, Professor Lobo exemplifies world class treatment and care. He offered a truly unparalleled and unmatched level of expertise, professionalism and consideration. His knowledge in the field of blood pressure treatments, hypertension and cardiovascular health is limitless and we cannot thank him enough for everything he’s done to restore my Mother’s health and well being.  Professor Lobo also guided me without hesitation when I visited his private clinic to ask his opinion on a health matter which required a procedure during a particularly concerning period. He truly went beyond the call of duty to ensure a thorough investigation and correct diagnosis and offered unparalleled support which resulted in a positive for me. I am incredibly grateful to him for such diligence. I regained my health and confidence, and it is only fair to take a moment here to share such exceptional medical care. Professor Lobo’s conscientiousness, assistance and experience are second-to-none and he unfailingly places the utmost importance on your well-being. I would recommend Professor Lobo thoroughly and without any hesitation. Chris Loizou

Patient seen for:
High Blood Pressure
Dizziness
Atrial Fibrillation
11-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Lobo had a very wholistic approach addressing my health Issues. what I really appreciated, apart from the thorough physical testing, was that he aimed to address the root cause. He was extremely, compassionate, comforting and a very good listener.

10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He is truly competent and makes the whole experience comfortable and easy to comprehend. Also, a true gentleman!

10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prompt consultation, polite and friendly and helpful explanations.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

This is the second consultation directly with Prof. Lobo, though the first by phone. I have previously been seen by other members of his team. As in my first consultation, I was particularly impressed with Prof. Lobo's ability to combine highly impressive clinical/ scientific knowledge and experience, focused on a good understanding of my case, while engaging with me on a personal level. Carrying that empathy across over the phone is not easy, but he handled it very well.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
09-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have 12 consultants and he is by far the best and the most caring.

08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very down to earth response to my issues. Where other medical staff have just offered me a tablet to fix all of my issues Professor Lobo has realised that it isn't the answer to every problem and i look forward to getting my hypertension resolved.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Good telephone conversation

03-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
1

Only had the initial phone call however based on that I found the professor to be extremely knowledgeable in his field and gave me confidence that finally my health issues could be identified and rectified

Professor Melvin Lobo

Thank you very much indeed for taking the trouble to provide feedback. I am sorry that you found my bedside manner to be so poor and would welcome any constructive feedback on this.

Patient seen for:
Headache
Dizziness
balance problems
01-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Lobo absolutely oozes compassion, he's so kind and helpful and that's on top of his vast knowledge of autonomic problems. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anybody.

Patient seen for:
Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS)
01-07-2020